Cricket News Andrew Tye Ruled Out Of Sri Lanka Series Due To Elbow Injury

first_img For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps. New Delhi: Andrew Tye, one of the Australia pacers who was included in the side against Sri Lanka for the upcoming three Twenty20 Internationals, will miss the series after suffering an elbow injury during practice. Aaron Finch, who was appointed the skipper of the team and was himself under an injury cloud due to a side strain, has been declared fit and will captain the side for the three matches. Tye’s injury, though, will not concern Australia much as they have a vast pace reserve in the form of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson and Billy Stanlake. Finch had missed two games for his state side Victoria but said he was not comfortable heading into the game.”I was a bit worried about throwing yesterday, it wasn’t the most comfortable the last couple of days in Perth. Getting here and batting yesterday, throwing a fair bit gave me some confidence. I’d say I’m 99 percent chance of playing tomorrow. Earlier in the week I was (in doubt). It didn’t progress all that quickly, but the last three days I got full movement and full training today,” Finch said. On Tye’s injury, he said, “(He did it) throwing, I think it was one of the first drills he did. He was a bit off balance and felt a bit of a pop in there.”Australia’s task will not be easy against a buoyant Sri Lanka side, who recently whitewashed the No.1 ranked Twenty20 International side Pakistan 3-0. Sri Lanka were missing many key players due to  security fears in Pakistan but the side still shone through and achieved what no side had against Pakistan since 2015. Sri Lanka will be led by Lasith Malinga while the side will also see great talent in Kusal Perera, Avishka Fernando and Kusal Mendis. Also Read | Steve Smith, David Warner Return To Twenty20 Side For Australia Vs Sri Lanka ClashSri Lanka have a wonderful record in Twenty20 Internationals against Australia, leading their overall head-to-head record 8-5. Sri Lanka have won five out of six Twenty20 Internationals in Australia, with their last loss coming in 2017 in Adelaide. Australia have not yet named a replacement for Tye but Cricket Australia has said they will announce it in the next few days.Australia squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, David Warner, Adam Zampa.  last_img