Jokowi honors fallen medical workers ahead of Independence Day

first_imgPresident Joko “Jokowi” Widodo has awarded posthumous honors to 22 medical workers who lost their lives in the fight against COVID-19, among the dozens of awardees recognized for their distinguished service to the country ahead of Independence Day.Jokowi presented the awards to family members of the deceased doctors and nurses, in a ceremony held in the State Palace in Central Jakarta on Thursday. “These awards are given to those that have performed distinguished service for the nation. The selection of awardees has been carried out through careful consideration,” Jokowi said after the ceremony.Nine medical workers were honored with the Bintang Jasa Pratama, the second rank of the Bintang Jasa honor, namely physicians Djoko Judodjoko, Bambang Sutrisna, Exsenveny Lalopua, Bartholomeus Bayu Satrio Kukuh Wibowo, Heru Sutantyo and Wahyu Hidayat, and nurses Setia Aribowo, Mursyida and Elok Widyaningsih.The President also awarded the Bintang Jasa Nararya, the third class of the Bintang Jasa, to 13 medical workers, namely physicians Hadio Ali Khazatsin and Adi Mirsa Putra; dentists Umi Susana Widjaja, Gunawan Oentaryo, Anna Herlina Ratnasari, Amutavia Pancarsari Artsianti Putri and Yuniarto Budi Santosa; and nurses Ninuk Dwi Pusponingsih, Sugiarto, Mulatsih Widji Astuti, Adharul Anam, Nuria Kurniasih and Nur Putri Julianty.Presidential spokesperson Fadjroel Rachman said the medals were also awarded as symbols of the state’s respect and bereavement. Read also: COVID-19 crisis opportunity for education reform in Indonesia”This is a symbol of our deep sorrow and the highest respect for the frontline medical personnel who handle COVID-19 patients,” he said.The 22 deceased medical workers were among 53 recipients of honors awarded annually as part of Indonesia’s Independence Day celebrations.In the ceremony, Jokowi also awarded medals of merit to 31 other figures including former president Megawati Soekarnoputri who was given the Medali Kepeloporan (pioneering medal) and former chairman of the Election Organizers Honorary Board Jimly Ashiddiqie who received the Bintang Penegak Demokrasi Utama.The President also awarded the Bintang Jasa Utama, the first class of the Bintang Jasa to six recipients, among whom were political figures, namely former House of Representatives speaker Bambang Soesatyo of the Golkar Party, People’s Consultative Assembly (MPR) deputy speakers Ahmad Basarah of the ruling Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDI-P) and Ahmad Muzani of Gerindra Party and former House deputy speaker Utut Adianto of the PDI-P.He also awarded the Bintang Mahaputera Nararya, one of the country’s highest civilian honors to seven people, including former MPR deputy speakers Mahyudin and Farouk Muhammad Saleh, former House deputy speakers Fadli Zon of the Gerindra Party and Fahri Hamzah of the Gelora Party as well as former chief of the National Counterterrorism Agency Suhardi Alius.Topics :last_img