Radcliffe Institute recognizes top three Harvard theses

first_img Read Full Story The Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study awarded the Captain Jonathan Fay Prize to the graduating seniors whose theses set forth the most imaginative work and original research.This year three Fay Prize recipients were chosen from 81 Thomas Hoopes Prize winners for outstanding scholarly work or research: mathematics concentrator Ashok Cutkosky for his thesis Polymer Simulations and DNA Topology; history and literature concentrator Benjamin Naddaff-Hafrey for his thesis The “Electrified Fable”: Radio Experimentation, Interwar Social Psychology, and Imagined Invasion in the War of the Worlds; and history concentrator Laura Savarese for her thesis Slavery’s Battleground: Contesting the Status of Enslaved and Free Blacks in St. Louis, from Statehood to the Civil War.“The work of the 2013 Fay Prize winners demonstrates the original thinking that Harvard encourages and that the Radcliffe Institute is dedicated to supporting,” said Radcliffe Institute Dean Cohen, when presenting the awards to the three Fay Prize winners. “We are honoring the distinguished work of these young minds and predict this is just the first of many remarkable achievements.”last_img read more

Read more on Radcliffe Institute recognizes top three Harvard theses

Broward County Shore Protection Project Open for Public Comment

first_imgThe U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Jacksonville District recently opened public comment on the Draft Environmental Assessment (EA) and proposed Finding of No Significant Impact (FONSI) regarding the continued periodic renourishment of Segment II, a part of the Broward County Shore Protection Project (BCSPP).The purpose for the project is to provide coastal storm risk management through beach renourishment of the Segment II portion of the Broward County Shore Protection Project.The need for the project is driven by erosion along the shoreline, most recently from Hurricane Irma in September 2017.Erosion has reduced the width of the beach, increasing the risk for storm damages that are otherwise mitigated by the beach design.The shoreline of Broward County includes 24 miles of coastline and two coastal inlets. The Segment II shoreline extends approximately 11.3 miles from the Hillsboro Inlet south to Port Everglades Inlet, and includes the municipalities of Pompano Beach, Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, Sea Ranch Lakes, and Fort Lauderdale.The upcoming renourishment event will include placement of approximately 413,000 cubic yards of sand along the 8.9 miles shoreline that was previously constructed, which includes all four municipalities, but just the northern portion of Fort Lauderdale.The Corps will accept written comments through June 18, 2020.last_img read more

Read more on Broward County Shore Protection Project Open for Public Comment

NBBF Appoints Officials for Zenith Women League

first_imgAhead of the 2019 Zenith Bank sponsored Women Basketball League tipping off on Saturday, 26th of July, the Nigeria Basketball Federation has appointed referees, table officials, statisticians and Technical Commissioners for the 4 match venues.Subel Kingsley, Sharon Njoku, Faith Ogwuche, Queen Nwagu and Abdul Yakubu have been appointed as Table Officials for Abuja zone while Suleiman Tukar, Aisha S. Daudu, Felix Adedeji, Emmanuel Balus, Abu Salias will be in charge of Zaria.Oyinloye Rapheal, Adeola Isah and Suleiman Mutiu will be on duty in Ibadan. In Akure, it will be Korede Fesiyo, Martins Ola, Babatunde Alex, Austine Olajide, Sunday Owolabi and Taiwo KayodeBabatunde Ola and Josiah Ahmedu have been selected as statisticians for Abuja. Timothy Abimbola and Abu Asimi will be in Zaria, Shomola Abiola will partner with Oladele Lanre in Ibadan with Adeniyi Adewale and Emmanuel Asher in charge of Akure.Christopher Thomas Nnaji and Ishola Akinsehinde have both been appointed as Technical Commissioners with Afolabi-Oluwayemi Olabisi (NBBF Secretary-General) to supervise.Ibrahim Haruna Hassan, Mohammed Sule, Shibi Emmanuel (Supervisor) have been posted to Zaria.Others include, Monday Owuh, Bamidele Funmilayo and Aderinboye Adebayo Alaba (Supervisor) in Ibadan and Adeola Oboro, Angela Nzekwe and Isokphehi Andrew (Supervisor) in Akure.23 referees have also been appointed for the phase first of the Zenith Women Basketball League.All officials and teams are to arrive on Friday, 25th, July for the Technical Meeting. Departure is on the 2nd of August.Share this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegramlast_img read more

Read more on NBBF Appoints Officials for Zenith Women League